Series of webinars on reproducible research. Episode V. Preserving software by Roberto Di Cosmo

12:30
Tuesday
8
Nov
2016
Organized by: 
Speaker: 
Teams: 
Detailed information: 

To improve our practice in terms of reproducible research, some colleagues and I organize a series of webinars where we will share our experience and thoughts and on those different themes. These webinars are open to anyone (PhD students, post-doc, engineers, researchers, …) and will be in English (possibly with a strong French accent ;-). The first four ones have addressed the management of a laboratory notebook and of replicable articles, the control of an environment, numerical reproducibility (all materials and videos are online), and activity logging and backing up.

The next one will be given by Roberto Di Cosmo (ENS Paris) on "Preserving software: ensuring availability and traceability". The first step towards reproducibility of experiments based on software is to be able to actually find the software that was used in the experiment. While this seems to be self evident, in practice it turns out to be not easy at all, and the tools which are commonly used today have severe limitations. In this talk, Roberto Di Cosmo will provide an overview of the issues we face when trying to ensure that digital content in general, and software in particular, is properly available and traceable. In order to address these issues, the Software Heritage initiative was started at Inria, and we will report here on its progress.

It will take place on Tuesday 8th November 2016, from 1:30PM to 4:30PM (UTC+1) in the brand new amphitheater of the IMAG building in Grenoble. It will be screencast and interactions during the presentations will take place through written interactive documents (pad, hangout, …). The resulting videos will be edited within a few days for a better exploitation by people that would not have been able to attend the event. All the information are gathered here.

If you are interested in following these talks, you should check on the corresponding web page whether a room has been reserved nearby and, if not, book one and update the web page accordingly as it is always much more fun/easy to learn in company of others rather than alone in a dark office. :)

We hope to see you soon.
Best,
Arnaud Legrand

Séries de webinaires sur les problématiques de recherche reproductible. Épisode V. Préservation du logiciel par Roberto Di Cosmo

13:30
Mardi
8
Nov
2016
Organisé par : 
Intervenant : 
Équipes : 
Information détaillée : 

Pour améliorer concrètement notre pratique en terme de reproductibilité de la rechercher, nous organisons avec des collègues une série de webinars ayant pour objectif de partager un savoir-faire ou des idées sur ces différentes thématiques. Ces webinars s'adressent à tous (doctorants, post-doctorants, ingénieurs, chercheurs, …) et sont en anglais. Nous avons déjà eu quatre séminaires sur le thème, le premier sur la gestion de cahier de laboratoire et d'article réplicable, le deuxième sur le contrôle de son environnement, le troisième sur la reproductibilité numérique (l'ensemble des documents et des vidéos est en ligne) et le quatrième sur le traçage et la sauvegarde de votre activité.

Le prochain webinar portera sur la "préservation du logiciel" et sera donné par Roberto Di Cosmo (ENS Paris). La première étape pour permettre la reproduction d'expériences utilisant du logiciel est évidemment d'être capable de retrouver le logiciel en question. Aussi évident que cela puisse paraître, ça n'est pas si simple en pratique et les outils couramment utilisés à l'heure actuelle présentent d'importantes limitations. Dans cet exposé, Roberto Di Cosmo donnera une présentation générale des difficultés rencontrées lorsque l'on essaye de s'assurer de la disponibilité et de la traçabilité de contenus digitaux, et en particulier de logiciel. Roberto nous présentera le projet Software Heritage qui permet de répondre à ces difficultés et dont il est à l'origine.

Ce séminaire aura lieu mardi prochain, le 8 novembre de 13:30 à 16:30PM (UTC+1) dans le tout nouvel amphi du bâtiment IMAG à Grenoble. Il sera diffusé en temps réel et mis à disposition une fois retravaillé. Comme d'habitude, il sera possible d'interagir avec les intervenants (en particulier durant les parties pratiques) en passant par des médias parallèles au webcast (pad, hangout, …). L'ensemble des informations est disponible ici.

Si vous souhaitez suivre cette intervention, je vous invite à regarder si une salle a été prévue près de chez vous et si ça n'est pas le cas à en réserver une et à mettre la page à jour car il est plus facile/agréable d'apprendre avec d'autres que tout seul dans son coin. :)

À bientôt j'espère,
Arnaud Legrand